When prompted with the question, “What do I want to know more about?” Which seems to be a common theme in Media and Communication projects, I always struggle despite the fact that I’m eternally curious, and I love to learn. The first thing I do when I open my computer is open up all the news sites I can think of and read the newest articles before retreating back to social media sites afterward and sharing my knowledge; if the opportunities arises.

I decided for my digital storytelling project, I wanted to hear and relate to other people’s stories. Through my project, I aim to provoke nostalgia amongst my peers and prompt this nostalgia through single photographs posted on this digital platform, (my WordPress blog) each week – followed by my own story from my past regarding the item photographed and presented. This will be a visual prompt to encourage a digital storycircle. I chose to use WordPress for my digital project as it eliminates the confines unlike a physical storycirlce, participants can respond to the image prompt whenever they see it or later, after hopefully considering the image and reminiscing on the item in the image. This gives the narrative agents an opportunity to see the image, and then return with a story – something that isn’t common in a physical storycircle as people are bounded in that time and space to tell their stories and then leave.

This idea for my digital storytelling project was inspired by daily post (Rowlands, 2013)as they also focus through this project on digital storytelling and collaboration from participants acting as narrative agents. Unlike my project, the collaborators have to present a photograph based on the prompt. My project focuses on the stories that are evoked through my photograph prompt and how the digital infrastructure of my WordPress blog helps to develop the processes of narrative storytelling. I choose the theme for this story circle, as I take a photograph of an object and post it, along with a story I have experienced involving the object itself. This will provide a stimulus for narrative exchange by others who can post their individual narratives in the comments and create a larger narrative through the digital infrastructure.

I anticipate that through other social media and digital tools I will be able to increase and impact this narrative by enhancing the views and amount of collaborative narratives per photograph. Through popular media tools such as Twitter and Facebook, I will be able to share the page where I will be posting the digital narratives and encourage contribution from people of different ages, cultures and genders. The collaborative ethnographic aspect of my digital storytelling project will come into place when my contributors respond with their stories, and answer the mapping questions proposed along with the photo and my own stories. The mapping answers will hopefully contain metadata that I will log along with their stories on my blog. These questions will be similar to ones such as, “Who was with you?” or “Where in the world did this story take place?” and, “How long ago did this happen?”

Through this interaction with my photograph I will engage in ethnographic research by logging the different responses in the stories, the difference in cultures, ages and the way people can have such different or similar responses to the same object. Through the digital storytelling project, I hope to find out more about my peer’s past experiences and how different or similar they can all be. I will discover this through collaborators, who will in fact be my peers, family and friends that respond as I share it through popular digital tools where this audience can reach it. Digital platforms such as Twitter and Facebook can be used to encourage interaction with my digital project and I will also present my findings through these platforms.

 

REFERENCES:

Couldry, N., MacDonald, R., Stephansen, H., Clark, W., Dickens, L. and Fotopoulou, A. (2013). Constructing a digital storycircle: digital infrastructure and mutual recognition. 1st ed. [ebook] SAGE publications, p.30. Available at: http://eprints.lse.ac.uk/54412/1/Couldry_Constructing-a-digital-storycircle_2014.pdf [Accessed 21 Sep. 2016].

 

(Couldry et al., 2013)

Rowlands, C. (2013). Nostalgic. [online] The Daily Post. Available at: https://dailypost.wordpress.com/photo-challenges/nostalgic/ [Accessed 20 Sep. 2016].

Leave a Reply

